Highland dancing


Different Levels (standards) of dancers require different tempos to be played for the dancers and pipers for dancing must aim to produce a steady musical accompaniment to the dance.


Generally speaking, the older the dancer the stronger is the dancer. Thus, the higher category of dancers has the stronger dancers. Such being the case, dancers in the lower category sections dance to a slightly faster tempo than that of the higher category dancer.


There are 5 different levels of dancing:

Primary:     Beginners aged 4, 5 & 6 years

Beginners:  No explanation needed and applies to any agee

Novice:              A beginner, irrespective of age, when placed at 6      

                              different competitions, is elevated to the Novice          


Intermediate: The level a dancer is at for one full year prior to going

                               into the Premier Category. Could be any age over 7          


Premier:           These are the professional dancers, the highest

                              competitive category. Ages range from under 8 years to

                              18 years and over


List of Competitive Dances:

  • The Highland Fling
  • The Flora MacDonald’s Fancy
  • The Scottish Lilt
  • The Irish Jig
  • The Sailor’s Hornpipe
  • The Seann Triubhas
  • Ghillie Calum
  • The Sword Dance     
  • Pas de Basques
  • Pas de Basques and Highcuts
  • The Reel
  • Wilt Thou Go Back to Barracks Johnnie
  • Highland Laddie
  • Scotch Measure
  • The Earl of Errol
  • Blue Bonnets
  • The Village Maid